Colorado’s DUI laws are strict and straightforward. As a state that allows both drinking and the use of marijuana, the authorities have to be cautious about DUIs and what they mean for the safety of those on the roads. Colorado’s DUI fees are so high that it’s very unlikely for people to get them more than once; those who do face significant penalties.
Colorado’s Per Se blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit is the same as other states at .08 percent. At this percentage, it’s assumed that you’re too intoxicated to drive and can be arrested for drunk driving.
The zero-tolerance age is 20 or younger. Underage drivers caught with a BAC of .02 percent or higher face penalties for driving drunk, even though it’s unlikely that the small amount of alcohol a .02 percent limit could cause intoxication.
The state requires every driver who gets a license to give consent for a BAC test. A breath test is not invasive and is something you must consent to if you’re asked for one. If you do not consent to a breath test upon request, you could have your license taken away from you.
DUIs usually refer to drinking alcohol and driving, but driving under the influence of drugs or medications that cause intoxication or inhibit your driving skills fall under this umbrella term as well. It’s important that you speak with someone who can help you defend yourself if you’re accused of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. A single conviction could cost you up to $10,000 and affect many other parts of your life. Our site has more on what to do if you’re facing a charge.