A Wealth Of Experience In A Wide Range Of Legal Areas
Home  Criminal Defense  The penalties for a DUI conviction in Colorado are strict

The penalties for a DUI conviction in Colorado are strict

| Jan 10, 2020 | Criminal Defense |

Drinking and driving in any part of the country is a mistake, as it increases the risk of a serious accident. Just the same, if you’re caught by police, it could result in a criminal conviction that turns your life upside down.

The penalties for a DUI conviction in Colorado are strict, so if you’re charged with this crime, it’s critical to devise a defense strategy to help reduce the impact on your life.

The administrative penalties for a DUI conviction are serious enough, with a first offense resulting in a license suspension of nine months and 12 points on your record. A second DUI results in a 12-month suspension and 12 points, with a third offense leading to a 24-month suspension and 12 points.

And that doesn’t even take into consideration the criminal penalties. Consider the following:

  • First DUI: $600 to $1,000 fine, 48 to 96 hours of public service and five days to one year in jail
  • DUI with one previous DUI: $600 to $1,500 fine, 48 to 120 hours of public service, and 10 days to one year in jail
  • DUI with two previous DUIs: $600 to $1,500 fine, 48 to 120 hours of public service, and 60 days to one year in jail
  • DUI with three or more previous DUIs: three years’ parole, 48 to 120 hours of public service and two to six years’ imprisonment

Since the penalties for a DUI conviction are life-altering, don’t wait to review your case and decide on a defense strategy that can help you avoid the most serious consequences.