The call for drivers to put down their phones is getting louder this legislative season in Colorado. Texting and driving, often referred to as distracted driving, is a nationwide problem that includes use of cellular phones for a number of non-driving tasks from text messaging to playing games or chatting on social media.
At the moment, a Colorado ticket for texting while driving is $50, with an average of fewer than one conviction per day. A new bill would increase the penalty to $300 if it passes. Besides a higher cost, the new bill would also increase the infraction’s significance against drivers’ records. The violation is dependent on if the driver’s behavior caused unsafe driving.
When Unsafe Behavior Causes an Accident
Cars and cell phones are instrumental to daily life, but users need to show judgment because car accidents can be deadly. Even when injuries appear minor, lingering effects can continue or appear well after the initial incident.
Anyone who has been in an accident should immediately file a police report that details the collision, and you should follow-up with a physician’s examination as soon as possible to determine injuries.
The Dangers of Distracted Driving
Texting is a convenient way to communicate, but when a driver isn’t paying attention to the road it doesn’t just risk car and driver, but passengers, other vehicles and pedestrians who share the roads.
If you have been injured by a distracted driver, you should speak with a personal injury attorney to investigate your options and to make sure that you receive fair compensation for any injuries.